spacer image
Calendar           Board Info           Contact Us           Home          
 
 How to Apply
 Renewal Info
 Reciprocity
 Forms
 Testing
 License Roster
 Law
 Rules & Regulations
 FAQs
 Related Links
 CONSUMER INFO
 

 

How to Apply for a License

You can download the application by clicking on the Forms  link or you can call us at (334) 272-5030 and we will be glad to mail you an application. No charge for Application.

 PRIME CONTRACTOR APPLICATION:- - $300.00 - fee
 Application Must be completed in its entirety, please do not send attachments, the required space provided is sufficient. Any individual may complete the application.  The reference portion of the application requires the following information: (all to include, name, mailing address, city, state and zip code working phone & fax #,  along with a contact person for each of the 4 references

Architect/Engineer -
General Contractor
if you are the prime contractor, we will accept another architect/eng. ref. in lieu of
Bank if you use more than 1 bank, a release from each bank is required
Material Supplier

Confidential Financial Statement booklet - Must be filled out by a CPA (Certified Public Accountant)

 The application has to be on file 30 days prior to a Board meeting which are held quarterly. All primes do have to take a Business and Law Exam administered by PSI testing center

 We do have Reciprocity with Mississippi, Tennessee, Arkansas and Louisiana you have to be licensed for 3 years consecutively with the same classification you are wanting in Alabama, this form is called verification of license, included in the Prime Application and under the form section of our website, please send that to one of those Boards and we will need a current copy of your license in that state. Please only send the states listed

 SUBCONTRACTOR APPLICATION:- - $150.00 - fee
Application Must be completed in its entirety, no attachments necessary. The same person completing the application may also complete the financial portion of the application. Three references from 3 General Contractors and/or Architect/Engineers that you have done work for have to be returned with your application.  Fifteen days from the date received a Subcontractor License will be issued. A subcontractor is allowed to bid the job to the General Contractor but cannot start the job until licensed.

 EXAMPLES OF REFERENCES FOR A SUBCONTRACTOR

Subcontractor:                                            Smith Masonry                                                                    
For Whom Work Performed                     Jones Construction Co Inc.  (prime contractor)                 
Location                                                        700 Union Street, Montgomery, Al                                    
Description of Work                                   Provided the masonry brick for 4,000 sq.ft.  office bldg   
Contract Amount                                        $25,000.00                                                                    

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors  -  2525 Fairlane Drive Montgomery, Alabama 36116
Phone:
(334) 272-5030 -  Fax: (334) 395-5336
www.genconbd.alabama.gov

Espaol     Translation Disclaimer     Statements/Policies

spacer image